usable kWh
Power math

How many watts does a sump pump use? Four real pumps, from the nameplate

Running watts for four common sump pumps from the makers' spec sheets, the one published locked-rotor figure, and the math from watts to a night's watt-hours.

How many watts does a sump pump use? Four real pumps, from the nameplate Sizing for this? Read Battery Backup for a Sump Pump: What Actually Works

The number on the box is horsepower, and horsepower is not watts. Two pumps sold as “1/3 HP” can differ by almost a factor of two in draw, because what matters is the motor design and the amps printed on the nameplate. This page reads four common pumps from their makers’ own spec sheets so you can size backup power from a real figure. The sizing itself, with a runtime table and ranked units, is on the battery backup for a sump pump page.

Four pumps, from the makers’ sheets

Watts here are nameplate amps multiplied by nameplate volts. That is volt-amps, strictly, but it is the figure an inverter has to supply and the one every backup calculation should start from.

PumpRated HPNameplateRunning wattsMotor
Zoeller M533/109.7 A at 115 V1,116 WShaded pole
Zoeller M981/29.4 A at 115 V1,081 WNot stated on the page
Liberty 2571/35.2 A at 115 V598 W8 A locked rotor published
Wayne CDU980E3/410 A at 120 V1,200 WNot stated on the page

Spec sheets checked September 9, 2026. Two things stand out. Zoeller’s 1/2 HP pump draws slightly less than its 3/10 HP pump, so the horsepower label tells you about the pump’s lifting ability, not its appetite. And Liberty’s 1/3 HP pump draws about half of Zoeller’s, which is the difference between a night on a 2 kWh battery and a night and a half.

Starting draw: the one maker that says

Every article about backup power warns that motors pull three to five times their running current for a fraction of a second at start-up. That is true of capacitor-start induction motors, which is why it matters so much for well pumps and compressors; Franklin’s published figures are in the well pump wattage guide. Submersible sump pumps are mostly shaded-pole or permanent-split-capacitor designs, which start more gently, and Liberty is the one maker in this table that publishes the number: 8 A locked rotor against 5.2 A running, a ratio of about 1.5. Zoeller and Wayne do not publish one, so for those pumps the honest plan is margin: an inverter whose continuous rating clears the running watts comfortably and whose surge rating is large enough to cover a start you have not measured.

From watts to a night

Watts are a rate. A battery is bought in watt-hours, so the question is how much of each hour the pump actually runs. That duty cycle is the assumption every sizing depends on, and it is the one you can measure: time the pump over ten minutes during a rain.

Duty cycleWhat it looks likeAverage draw (M53)Eight hours
10%Steady drizzle, six minutes an hour112 W893 Wh
25%Steady rain, fifteen minutes an hour279 W2,232 Wh
50%Heavy rain, half of every hour558 W4,464 Wh
100%Flash flood, never stops1,116 W8,928 Wh

Those are watt-hours delivered at the outlet. A battery has to hold more than that, because the inverter loses roughly 15% converting battery watt-hours into outlet watt-hours; the usable capacity guide walks through that step. Divide the delivered figure by 0.85 to get the usable battery you need: a 25% night on the M53 wants about 2,626 Wh of usable battery, which is why the 2 kWh class is the honest floor for a night and the 1 kWh class is a bridge.

The same method works for any appliance with a nameplate; the refrigerator wattage guide uses the EnergyGuide label instead, because a fridge’s draw is an average of a cycling compressor, and the CPAP page works from the maker’s published typical and peak figures.

Reading your own label

Find the plate on the pump body or the tag on its cord. It lists volts and amps; multiply them. If it lists locked-rotor amps as well, multiply those by volts too and you have the surge figure most makers leave out. If the plate is unreadable, the model number on the same plate finds the maker’s spec sheet, which is where every number above came from.

Frequently asked questions

How many watts does a 1/3 HP sump pump use?

It depends on the motor more than the horsepower. Zoeller's 3/10 HP M53 is rated 9.7 A at 115 V, about 1,116 W. Liberty's 1/3 HP 257 is rated 5.2 A, about 598 W. Read the amps on your pump's label and multiply by 115.

How many watts does a 1/2 HP sump pump use?

Zoeller's 1/2 HP M98 is rated 9.4 A at 115 V, about 1,081 W, slightly less than Zoeller's own 3/10 HP model. Wayne's 3/4 HP CDU980E is rated 10 A at 120 V, about 1,200 W.

How many watt-hours does a sump pump use per hour?

Running watts times the fraction of the hour it runs. A 1,116 W pump running 15 minutes of every hour uses about 279 Wh per hour; running continuously it uses 1,116 Wh per hour.

What is the starting wattage of a sump pump?

Most sump pump makers do not publish it. Liberty does: 8 A locked rotor on its 1/3 HP 257, against 5.2 A running, about 1.5 times. Capacitor-start motors in other appliances can draw three to five times running current.

Disclosure: Usable kWh is reader-supported. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we would use ourselves, and product photos come from the retailer.