How long do power stations last? Cycles, calendar years and the shelf, from the makers' own figures
What a cycle rating promises and to what capacity, how calendar aging and storage habits shorten it, and EcoFlow's published storage rules.
A power station’s lifespan is three different clocks, and the maker’s spec sheet only ever prints one of them. The cycle rating is how many times you can fill and empty it before it holds 80% of what it did; calendar aging and storage habits decide whether you ever get there. Here is what each clock measures, what the makers actually state, and how to keep the second and third from running out first.
Clock one: cycles, and the number after “to”
A cycle is one full discharge and recharge. Makers rate their packs at a cycle count after which the battery still holds a stated fraction of its original capacity, and that fraction is the fine print:
| Maker, unit | Stated rating | Where the site prints it |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetti Elite 200 V2 | 6,000 cycles to 80% | 2 kWh roundup |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2, C2000 Gen 2 | 4,000 cycles to 80% | 1 kWh and 2 kWh roundups |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3, DELTA 3 Plus, DELTA Pro 3 | 4,000 cycles to 80% | 1 kWh and expandable roundups |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro | 3,500 cycles to 80%, 6,500 to 50% | expandable roundup |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max | 3,000 cycles to 80% | 2 kWh roundup |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | 4,000 cycles to 70% | 1 kWh roundup |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 (original, NMC) | 800 cycles to 80% | chemistry guide |
| Anker SOLIX F3800, F3000; Bluetti AC180, AC70 | a count with no stated basis | printed as not stated |
Two things follow. The basis changes the promise: 4,000 cycles to 70% is a different battery than 4,000 to 80%. And a count with no basis is a number, not a rating, which is why those cells read “not stated” on this site’s cards. EcoFlow’s DELTA Pro page is the model of how to state it: two counts, two capacities.
For a backup unit the cycle clock barely moves. A household that runs it through twenty outages and a few camping trips a year uses perhaps thirty cycles; a 3,000-cycle pack would take a century. The cycle rating matters when the unit works daily on solar, and that is when Bluetti’s 6,000 earns its band.
Clock two: calendar aging
Lithium cells age whether or not they are used, faster when hot and faster when held at full charge. This is the clock a backup unit actually runs on, and no maker states it as a number; they state a lifespan instead, and “up to 10 years” is the phrase across EcoFlow, Anker and Jackery pages. Read it as an estimate under the storage rules below, not as a warranty. The warranty is separate and, for portable units, is five years across the makers ranked here; FranklinWH’s installed aPower 2 is the outlier at 15 years or 60 MWh of throughput, whichever comes first, which is the honest way to write one.
Clock three: the shelf
A unit that sits between storms discharges itself, and EcoFlow’s published guidance is the most specific on the market: lithium self-discharge runs about 2 to 3% a month; store between 30 and 85%; check and top up every three months; and a unit left uncharged for more than six months is outside warranty coverage. If a unit has been run below 1%, recharge it to about 60% before storing, because a deeply discharged lithium cell left idle can be damaged beyond recovery.
The simplest way to keep this clock from running is to leave the unit plugged in as a UPS ahead of the refrigerator, which the pass-through guide covers; the battery stays full, the pack sits at the maker’s float charge, and the outage finds it ready. The one cost is holding at 100%, which is gentler on LFP than on older chemistries and is what every maker’s UPS mode does by design.
What shortens all three
Heat, above all: a garage in August or a car trunk. Full discharges to zero. Storage at 100% for months in a hot room. Charging below freezing, which every unit here refuses to do for that reason. None of these is exotic; the ordinary failure is a unit bought before one storm, drained, and left in a hot garage until the next.
How to read a lifespan claim
Look for three things on the maker’s page: a cycle count, the capacity it is rated to, and a storage instruction. A page with all three is being straight with you. A page with “up to 10 years” and nothing else is describing the calendar clock under conditions it has not told you, and the cards on this site say so.
Frequently asked questions
How many years does a portable power station last?
Makers rate current LiFePO4 units at 3,000 to 6,000 full cycles before capacity falls to 80% (Jackery rates to 70%). Cycled once a day that is eight to sixteen years; cycled a few times a year for outages, the calendar and the shelf matter more than the cycle count, and ten years is the figure most makers quote.
Does a power station lose charge sitting on a shelf?
Yes, slowly. EcoFlow puts lithium self-discharge at roughly 2 to 3% a month and tells owners to store between 30 and 85% and top up every three months; it also states that a unit left uncharged for more than six months is outside warranty coverage.
Should I store a power station full or empty?
Neither. EcoFlow's guidance is 30 to 85%, and to recharge a unit that has run below 1% to about 60% before storing it, because a deeply discharged lithium cell left idle can be damaged permanently.
Is a 3,000-cycle battery worse than a 6,000-cycle one?
Only if you will use those cycles. A backup unit cycled twenty times a year does not reach 3,000 in a lifetime. Daily solar cycling is where the 6,000-cycle packs earn their price.