usable kWh
Best by size

Best expandable power station: five systems that grow past 3 kWh, ranked on what they can start

The expandable class ranked on 240 V output, stated surge, expansion ceiling and safety listing: which systems start a well pump and which stay 120 V.

Above 3 kWh the question changes. Capacity is bought by the battery pack, so the number that ranks these systems is not watt-hours but what the inverter can do: whether it outputs 240 V from a single unit, whether its maker states a surge figure large enough to start a motor, and what safety listing it actually claims. Five systems, every figure from the maker’s page on the date shown.

What “expandable” buys, and what it does not

An extra battery adds hours at the same output. A 4 kWh system that runs the essentials for a day and a half becomes, with two more packs, one that runs them for five days; it does not become one that starts a well pump it could not start before. The inverter is fixed at purchase, so choose it for the biggest motor on your list and buy batteries for the days; the solar guide covers the input ceilings that decide how fast those batteries refill. The home battery backup pillar sizes both halves, and the sizing calculator does it for your own list.

The line that splits the class

Unit240 V from one unitStated surgeListing statedExpands to
Anker SOLIX F3800Yes9,000 Wnone stated53.8 kWh
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3Yesnot statedUL 954048 kWh
EcoFlow DELTA Pro UltraYesnot statedUL 9540, UL 197390 kWh
EcoFlow DELTA ProNo, two units and a hub7,200 Wnone stated25 kWh
Anker SOLIX F3000No, two units and a hub7,200 Wnone stated24 kWh

A well pump or a central air conditioner needs 240 V and a start above roughly 7,400 VA for a 1/2 HP motor, per Franklin’s published locked-rotor figure. Only the F3800 states both; the DELTA Pro Ultra’s 7,200 W continuous nearly matches the start on its own with no surge figure stated; the DELTA Pro 3 states neither and is ranked for what it does state. The well pump page is the full check, and the running versus surge guide is why the surge column exists.

Where the makers are honest and where they are quiet

EcoFlow’s two newest systems state UL 9540, the standard for stationary storage (the UL standards guide explains the difference from UL 2743), which no other unit on this site does. Anker states neither a listing nor a cycle basis on the F3800 or F3000 pages, and the cards say so. EcoFlow’s DELTA Pro states its cycles with the test condition, 3,500 to 80%, which is how every maker should. None of this changes a unit’s output; it changes how much of the rest of the page you have to take on trust.

Connecting one to the house

Every system here is sold with, or for, a transfer-switch bundle, because the point of 3 kWh and up is feeding circuits rather than plugging in a refrigerator. That is the callout at the top of this page: the transfer switch guide explains what the electrician installs, and nothing on this site is a wiring instruction. Above this class sits the installed home battery, on the whole-house page, and the F3800 versus DELTA Pro Ultra head-to-head is the two 240 V units side by side.

How we measure

Every pick is scored on the same five criteria. Every capacity, output and certification figure is read from the manufacturer's current spec sheet at write time and dated on the card, and every runtime is computed from those figures with the arithmetic shown. When a maker does not publish a number, the card says "not stated". We never guess one.

  1. Usable capacity

    The advertised watt-hours against what reaches the outlet: inverter loss, the depth-of-discharge limit and idle self-consumption. We state usable capacity, not the sticker.

  2. Output headroom

    Continuous and surge watts against the appliances readers actually plug in. A pump that pulls 3 to 5 times its running watts at start trips an underspecced inverter; we check the surge number first.

  3. Chemistry and certification

    LiFePO4 versus NMC, the rated cycles to 80%, and whether the unit carries UL 2743, UL 9540 or UL 1973. We print the certification status plainly and never treat an uncertified import as equivalent.

  4. Recharge and expansion

    Wall recharge time, the solar input ceiling and what it means for real charge time, pass-through or UPS switchover, and whether there is an expansion-battery path.

  5. Value and warranty

    Price per usable kilowatt-hour, weighted by warranty years. A maker that guarantees its cycle rating in writing is telling you something the spec sheet cannot.

Price bands, relative to the picks on this page: $ budget · $$ mid-range · $$$ premium · $$$$ top shelf. Retailer prices move constantly, so we show bands rather than dollar amounts; each button shows the live price.

Best overall

Anker SOLIX F3800

4.5 Our score $$$$

Anker SOLIX F3800
Usable capacity 4.5
Output headroom 5.0
Chemistry & certs 4.0
Recharge & expansion 4.5
Value & warranty 4.5
Advertised
3,840 Wh
Usable, est. 85% inverter
3,264 Wh
Continuous
6,000 W
Surge
9,000 W
Chemistry
LiFePO4 (LFP)
Rated cycles
not stated
Weight
132.3 lb
Certification none stated by the maker

Model F3800 Spec-checked Sep 11, 2026 Source

The only unit in the class whose maker states both 240 V from a single box and a surge figure, 9,000 W, above a 1/2 HP well pump's start. 6,000 W continuous, 2,400 W of solar input, and an expansion ceiling of 53.8 kWh. Anker states 3,000-plus cycles without a capacity basis, so the cycles cell reads not stated.

Pros

  • 240 V and 9,000 W surge from one unit
  • Expandable to 53.8 kWh; 2,400 W solar input

Cons

  • Cycle basis and safety certification not stated on the maker's page
  • 132 lb; it lives where it is installed

Best stated pack

EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3

4.4 Our score $$$$

EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3
Usable capacity 4.5
Output headroom 4.5
Chemistry & certs 4.5
Recharge & expansion 4.5
Value & warranty 4.0
Advertised
4,096 Wh
Usable, est. 85% inverter
3,482 Wh
Continuous
4,000 W
Surge
not stated
Chemistry
LiFePO4 (LFP)
Rated cycles
4,000 to 80%
Weight
113.5 lb
Certification UL 9540

Model DELTA Pro 3 Spec-checked Sep 11, 2026 Source

The most complete spec sheet here: 4,096 Wh, 4,000 W at 120 or 240 V from one unit, 4,000 cycles to 80% stated with the test condition, UL 9540 stated, and expansion to 48 kWh. EcoFlow's page states a 6,000 W X-Boost figure but no surge rating, so the surge cell reads not stated and a well pump is not a promise this page makes for it.

Pros

  • UL 9540 and 4,000 cycles to 80% both stated
  • 120/240 V from one unit; expandable to 48 kWh

Cons

  • Surge rating not stated on the maker's page
  • 113.5 lb

Whole-home class

EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra

4.5 Our score $$$$

EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra
Usable capacity 5.0
Output headroom 4.5
Chemistry & certs 4.5
Recharge & expansion 5.0
Value & warranty 3.5
Advertised
6,144 Wh
Usable, est. 85% inverter
5,222 Wh
Continuous
7,200 W
Surge
not stated
Chemistry
LiFePO4 (LFP)
Rated cycles
not stated
Weight
181.8 lb
Certification UL 9540UL 1973

Model DELTA Pro Ultra (inverter + 1 battery) Spec-checked Sep 11, 2026 Source

7,200 W at 120/240 V from one inverter, 6,144 Wh per battery, scaling to 90 kWh, and UL 9540 and UL 1973 both stated. It is the portable class touching the installed one, and priced like it. EcoFlow's US page states no surge figure and describes 3,500 cycles without a capacity basis; both cells read not stated. Weight is inverter plus one battery.

Pros

  • UL 9540 and UL 1973 stated; scales to 90 kWh
  • 7,200 W continuous at 240 V

Cons

  • Surge and cycle basis not stated on the US page
  • Two pieces, 70 and 112 lb; top-shelf band

Best 120 V value

EcoFlow DELTA Pro

4.3 Our score $$$$

EcoFlow DELTA Pro
Usable capacity 4.5
Output headroom 4.5
Chemistry & certs 4.0
Recharge & expansion 4.5
Value & warranty 4.0
Advertised
3,600 Wh
Usable, est. 85% inverter
3,060 Wh
Continuous
3,600 W
Surge
7,200 W
Chemistry
LiFePO4 (LFP)
Rated cycles
3,500 to 80%
Weight
99 lb
Certification none stated by the maker

Model DELTA Pro Spec-checked Sep 11, 2026 Source

The original of the class and still a clean spec sheet: 3,600 Wh, 3,600 W with a stated 7,200 W surge, 3,500 cycles to 80% stated, 1,600 W of solar, expandable to 25 kWh. Single unit is 120 V only; 240 V needs a second unit and a hub, which is the one line that keeps it off the well pump page.

Pros

  • Stated 7,200 W surge and 3,500 cycles to 80%
  • Expandable to 25 kWh

Cons

  • 120 V only as a single unit
  • No safety certification stated on the maker's page

Budget entry to the class

Anker SOLIX F3000

4.2 Our score $$$$

Anker SOLIX F3000
Usable capacity 4.0
Output headroom 4.5
Chemistry & certs 4.0
Recharge & expansion 4.5
Value & warranty 4.0
Advertised
3,072 Wh
Usable, est. 85% inverter
2,611 Wh
Continuous
3,600 W
Surge
7,200 W
Chemistry
LiFePO4 (LFP)
Rated cycles
not stated
Weight
91.5 lb
Certification none stated by the maker

Model F3000 Spec-checked Sep 11, 2026 Source

3,072 Wh, 3,600 W through its 30 A outlet with a stated 7,200 W surge, 2,400 W of solar input and expansion to 24 kWh, at the lowest band here. Like the DELTA Pro it is 120 V alone; 240 V takes two units and Anker's hub. Anker states 4,000 cycles without a capacity basis.

Pros

  • Lightest and lowest band in the class
  • Stated 7,200 W surge; 2,400 W solar input

Cons

  • 120 V only as a single unit
  • Cycle basis and safety certification not stated

Frequently asked questions

What is an expandable power station?

A portable unit whose inverter accepts extra battery packs, so capacity grows from 3 or 4 kWh to tens of kilowatt-hours while the outlets and output stay the same. Adding batteries adds hours, not watts: the inverter's rating is fixed.

Which expandable power stations output 240 V from a single unit?

On the makers' pages, the Anker SOLIX F3800, the EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra and the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3. The EcoFlow DELTA Pro and the Anker SOLIX F3000 are 120 V alone and reach 240 V only with a second unit and a hub.

Can an expandable power station run a well pump?

The ones whose stated surge clears the motor's locked-rotor start. Franklin lists about 7,400 VA for a 1/2 HP motor; the F3800's stated 9,000 W surge clears it, and the DELTA Pro Ultra's 7,200 W continuous nearly matches it on its own. The well pump page has the full check.

Do I need an electrician for an expandable system?

To plug appliances into it, no. To feed the house's circuits, which is the point of most systems this size, yes: a transfer switch or inlet installed and permitted by a licensed electrician. Several of these ship with a transfer-switch bundle for that reason.

Disclosure: Usable kWh is reader-supported. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we would use ourselves, and product photos come from the retailer.